New: Young, Restless, Reformed

In our culture the influences upon young men and women include everything from vocal atheism (God Is Not Great) to influences within the church culture towards postmodern originality (Everything Must Change). Yet the demographic of young Calvinists—those returning to ancient theological roots—is growing. Young men and women are confessing that God is great and the need for all-out change within the church is exaggerated alarmism.

This fascinating growth in Calvinism among young Christians caught the attention of Christianity Today editor Collin Hansen. Hansen invites others to ride “shotgun” as he travels across the country discovering the far reaches of the emerging Calvinism in his new book—Young, Restless, Reformed: A Journalist’s Journey With the New Calvinists (Crossway, 2008).

This is one of the most engaging and adventurous books we’ve seen in 2008. Read it to meet the cast of characters behind this rise; read it to discover the far-reaching influences of Calvinism on the lives of young men and women; read it for the excellent and descriptive perception of the author.

Young, Restless, Reformed is a must-read and now available from Crossway.

14 thoughts on “New: Young, Restless, Reformed

  1. I’m thinking about buying this book. It looks smaller and cheaper than the other books. And that is a good thing since I am a college student. It’s all because you posted about the book. Thanks Tony
    Mark

  2. Never buy books because they are inexpensive. But if you are young, restless, and reformed, buy it as reflection of yourself. It’s like a biography of TSS readers. :-)

    Tony

  3. What I was saying is that I can’t afford the other books you post. Some of the others that have many volumes though, but because it’s one of the cheaper ones, I’m thinking about buying it. Thanks for Reviewing it. I am young (20), restless (always on the move) and reformed (this one is obvious). Oh and what do you mean by “It’s like a biography of TSS readers. :)”
    Thanks again Tony.
    Mark

  4. I really appreciate your review of Christian books, new and old–presently I live in the ‘boonies’ and only trusted Christians as yourself, Sov Grace, and other Reformed websites, can I find help to sift through the millions to find the few! Thank you! Linda

  5. I really appreciate your review of Christian books, new and old–presently I live in the ‘boonies’ and only trusted Christians as yourself, Sov Grace, and other Reformed websites, can I find help to sift through the millions to find the few! Thank you! Linda

  6. Ah, I understand, Mark.

    A biography because TSS is teaming with the young (some more than others), restless, and reformed!

    Tony

  7. Most of the pictures featured on TSS are shot in house. We have a lightbox setup with digital cameras and wide angle lenses. T

  8. Linda, thank you for the kind words. I was born and raised in the boonies (NE), so I feel your pain. Thankful I can help in some small way. Blessings, T

  9. No, I have many friends in the publishing world who are gracious and appreciate what I’m doing on this blog to support and promote their works. It’s a great relationship. T

Leave a comment